Rohit Sharma leads India to 141-run win, keeps ODI series alive

December 13, 2017 09:21 PM

MOHALI : Indian captain Rohit Sharma led his team to an impressive 141-run victory against Sri Lanka in the second One-Day International match at the IS Bindra PCA Stadium here tonight. With this triumph, India strongly bounced back into the three-match ODI series with 1-1 score. Sri Lanka had registered a seven-wicket verdict in the first ODI in Dharamshala (Himachal Pradesh).

Sri Lanka could muster 251 for 8 in allotted 50 overs against Indian total of 392 for 4 . The highlight of Sri Lanka's innings was a defiant century by Angelo Mathews who stood firm in the middle for his unbeaten 111 which came from 132 deliveries. His lion-hearted knock contained nine fours and three sixes.
Rohit's unbeaten double century (208) bolstered India to 392 for 4 in stipulated. Rohit Sharma was associated in a 115-run opening wicket stand with Shikhar Dhawan (68) and 213-run second wicket partnership with Shreyas Iyer (88).

Required to get 393 runs for victory and establiish an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series, Sri Lanka were denied to reach the target by the spirited Indian bowlers. especially leg break bowler Yuzvendra Chahal and Jasprit Bumrah. Yuzvendra Chahal produced a deadly bowling spell in the 30th over in which he consumed two Sri Lanka wickets of Asela Gunaratne (34) and Thisara Perera (5). Earlier he had dismissed Niroshan Dickwella (22).

Jasprit Bumrah sent back Danushka Gunathilaka (16) and Akila Dananjaya (11) to the pavilion.
Hardik Pandya gave India the first breakthrough by dismissing opener Upul Tharanga who was caught by Dinesh Karthik at his individual contribution of 7 and team's total of 15 in 3.5 overs.
Sri Lanka suffered another jolt when Danushka Gunathilaka (16) was snapped behind stumps of the bowling of Jasprit Bumrah. The wicket fell at 30 in 7.3 overs. Eighteen-year old Tamil Nadu off spinner Washington Sundar who became the seventh youngest player to make his ODI debut for India, got his maiden wicket as he bowled Lahiru Thirimanne (21). Sri Lanka 3 for 62 in 15.3 overs
Angelo Mathews and Niroshan Dickwella defied the Indian bowlers and were associated in a 53-run partnership for the fourth wicket. Washinton caught Dickwella (22) of the bowling of Yuzvendra Chahal. With the exit of Dickwella, Sri Lanka lost their fourth wicket at 115 in 22.4 overs.

Yuzvendra Chaha struck two quick blows in the 31st over. On both occasion was the combination of Chahal and MS Dhoni. Asela Gunaratne played a defiant knock of 34 (5x4s) before he was stumped by Dhoni and Lanka were five wickets down for 159 runs in 30.2 overs. Chahal produced another good delivery, the last ball of the same over to get Thisara Perera (5) stumped by Dhoni. The visitors were reeling at 166 for 6 in 30.6 overs.

Earlier, playing an authoritative unbeaten 208 (153 balls, 13x4s, 12x4s) knock Indian captain Rohit Sharma spearheaded the Indian attack by scoring his 16th one-day international century and third double century. He guided India to 392 for 4 in 50 overs. He displayed his dazzling form in the 44th over as he loafted Suranga Lakmal over the fence four times in four legal deliveries. First he dispatched Lakmal in the midwicket stand for his first six. Followed it with two successive soaring sixes at square leg. After a wide ball, Sharma against lifted Lakmal over midwicket for his fourth six in the over.

Continuing his onslaught, Rohit Sharma slammed three successive sixes in the next over bowled by Pradeep Fernando. Firing with rapid speed and power, Rohit Sharma hit 12 sixes and 13 well-timed boundaries.

By taking two runs in the 50th over bowled by Perera, Rohit Sharma scored his third double-hundred in One-Day Internationals.

Playing his 173rd match, Rohit Sharma first gave full support to left handed Shikhar Dhawan (68) as this opening pair gave India a solid start by stitching a 115-run partnership for the opening wicket stand. 
At the fall of Dhawan's wicket, Shreyas Iyer came in the middle to join his captain. Just playing his second match Iyer looked determined as he was associated in a sizzling 213-run partnership for the second wicket. Shreyas Iyer was caught c substitute fielder PC de Silva of the bowling of Thisara Perera (3 for 80). Iyer's 88 from 70 balls contained nine boundaries and two effortless sixes.

Rohit Sharma completed his three-figure feat by playing Pathirana to sweeper cover for one. 
Put in to bat after Sri Lanka skipper Thisara Perera won the toss, Indian openers Rohit Sharma and left handed Shikhar Dhawan stitched a valuable 115-run partnership before Sri Lanka got their first success in the 22nd over. India need to fight back to win the Mohali ODI after losing at Dharamshala (Himachal Pradesh) by 7 wickets. 

At the half way stage of their innings, India were 133 for one with Rohit batting on unbeaten 52 from 68 deliveriese and has so far hit five boundaries. New comber Iyer was batting on 15.
Shikhar Dhawan played an aggressive innings of 68 from 67 deliveries. With a striking rate of 101.49, Dhawan slammed nine boundaries. This formidable partnership was broken by spinner Sachith Pathirana, who had Dhawan caught by Lahiru Thirimanne.

After India losing Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer joined his captain Rohit Sharma.

Earlier, executing his shots all over the ground, Dhawan completed his half centry from 47 balls as he hit Sri Lanka offbreak bowler Akila Dananjaya for two runs by hiwas on 47 from 45 balls with the help of seven boundaries.

After a cautious start having scored just 33 runs in 10 overs, the Indian openers opened up and started playing their shots, Dhawan was more aggressive while Sharma extended him full support. From 33 runs in 10 overs India added 100 runs in the next 15 overs to be 133 for 1 in 25 overs.

Out six bowlers Sri Lanks used, only spinner Sachith Pathirana has so far met the lone success. Other Sri Lankans who bowled were Angelo Mathews, Suranga Lakmal, Thisara Perera, ANPR Fernando and Akila Dananjaya.

Sri Lanka skipper Thisara Perera, who played for Kings XI Punjab in Indian Premier League, won the toss and decided to field. 

INDIA: Rohit Sharma not out 208, Shikhar Dhawan c Lahiru Thirimanne b Sachith Pathirana 68, Shreyas Iyer c sub PC de Silva b Thisara Perera 88, MS Dhoni lbw Thisara Perera 7, Hardik Pandya c Lahiru Thirimanne b Thisara Perera 8.
Extras (b 1, lb 1, w 11) 13.
Total (for four wickets, in 50 overs) 392
Fall of wickets: 1-117, 2-328, 3-354, 4-392.
Bowling: Angelo Mathews 4-1-9-0, Suranga Lakmal 8-0-71-0, Thisara Perera 8-0-80-3, ANPR Fernando 10-0-106-0, Akila Dananjaya 10-0-51-0, Sachith Pathirana 9-0-63-1, Asela Gunaratne 1-0-10-0.
SRI LANKA: Danushka Gunathilaka c MS Dhoni b Jasprit Bumrah 16, Upul Tharanga c Dinesh Karthik b Hardik Pandya 7, Lahiru Thirimanne b Washington Sundar 21, Angelo Mathews not out 111, Niroshan Dickwella c Washinton Sundar b Yuzvendra Chahal 22, Asela Gunaratne st MS Dhoni b Yuzvendra Chahal 34, Thisara Perera c MS Dhoni b Yuzvendra Chahal 5, Sachith Pathirana c Shikhar Dhawan b Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2, Akila Dananjaya c Rohit Sharma b Jasprit Bumrah 11, Suranga Lakmal not out 11.
Extras (lb 2, w 9) 11.
Total (for 8 wickets in 50 overs) 251
Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-30, 3-62, 4-115, 5-159, 6-166, 7-180, 8-207. 
Bowling: Bhuvneshwar Kumar 8-0-37-1, Hardik Pandya 10-0-39-1, Jasprit Bumrah 10-0-43-2, Washington Sundar 10-0-63-1, Yuzvendra Chahal 10-0-60-3, Shreyas Iyer 1-0-2-0.

Have something to say? Post your comment